LOS ANGELES, CA – December 13, 2005 – University Kidney Disease Research Associates (UKDRA/UKRO),** an organization dedicated to research that will create improved treatments and cures for and the prevention of kidney disease, honored three noted figures from the worlds of kidney disease medicine and biotechnology at its first-ever benefit dinner held Tuesday, December 13, 2005 at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

Honorees were Dr. Vito M. Campese, Chief of the Division of Nephrology and the Hypertension Center at the Keck School of Medicine at USC, Dr. Richard Glassock, one of the most eminent physicians in the field of nephrology and the Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, and Dr. George Rathmann, one of the giants in the field of biotechnology, co-founder and former Chairman of Amgen, former Chairman of ICOS, and Chairman Emeritus of Nuvelo.

The program for the evening featured the multi-platinum recording and successful touring artist, Deana Carter. Also appearing was popular comedienne, Carla Collins. Master of Ceremonies for the evening was John Schneider, star of the hit WB network series “Smallville” and previously in the classic TV series “The Dukes of Hazzard” and an accomplished Broadway star and recording artist.

Kidney disease is a major component of health care expenditures in the United States. Yearly over $15 billion is spent by the American public to treat kidney disease, and this number is expected to more than double in the next five years. In spite of the magnitude of the problem, annual expenditures on kidney disease research in the form of public and private grants are remarkably small.

The goal of UKRO is to support basic and clinical research in kidney disease leading to improved treatments and cures for, and the prevention of, all forms of kidney disease. UKRO is committed to creating the Southern California Kidney Institute in association with the Keck School of Medicine at USC, which will be a pre-eminent center for research and treatment relating to kidney disease.

The Board of Directors of UKRO consists of Kenneth Kleinberg, President, Benjamin Barbour, M.D., Vice President/Chief Financial Officer, Leslie Chotiner, Secretary, Bruce Corwin, Sohan Dua, M.D., Richard Glassock, M.D., Lewis Kleinberg, Dennis L. Kogod, Manfred Mosk, Ph.D., Stuart Rowlands, Sheldon Saltman, and Alan Steigrod.

The Medical and Scientific Advisory Board is chaired by Vito M. Campese, M.D., and includes Mohammed Akmal, M.D., David Lee, M.D., Donald J. Marsh, M.D., Alicia McDonough, M.D., Mitra Nadim, M.D., Saeid Nasrati, M.D., Isidro Salusky, M.D., Miroslaw Smogorzewski, M.D., Joseph P. Van Der Meulen, M.D., Nick Vaziri, M.D. and Alan Yu, M.D.


Kenneth Kleinberg, President/Director
University Kidney Research Organization
or Leslie Chotiner, Secretary/Director
Telephone: (310) 286-3480

** Note: UKRO was UKDRA (University Kidney Disease Research Associates) prior to November 2008.